Only 43 points this week.

gw5-points

Below average (which was 48). In a week where points were flowing from all directions, this was a phenomenally underwhelming performance by my team, seeing me take a nice tumble down my mini leagues.

First up, Capoue’s continued upsetting of the form book with his 4th goal this season (after not scoring the entire of last season) meant that I had 10 points sitting on my bench while Lamela appeared as a late sub for a 1-pointer. Redmond continued to disappoint in a Southampton still out of sorts.

Hazard was kept quiet by Liverpool, and he has seen massive sales as people are scrambling to raise money for a quick Kun buy-back. Ibra, my capt, gave a performance as damp squid as the United team in recent games, getting only one flukey assist for a miserable 10 captaincy points. Really bad.

However, it is not the non-performers in my team who brought me down but rather the performing players who scored massive hauls and whom I did not own. These would be the City boys of Sterling, Kevin De Bruyne and Ihenacho, who all trounced Bournemouth 4-0 and returned double digit scores. Michail Antonio continued his scoring streak for an out-of-sorts West Ham, and popular troll Lukaku managed to get a completely fluke goal and an assist to reward his new owners.

A lot of surgery to be done to the team and despite there being League Cup games in midweek, I have pulled the trigger with my 2 saved transfers by bringing in Sterling for Hazard and then Kun for Ibra. I am contemplating removing my non-playing defender Souare, who is out till the end of the year. His price had dropped to 4.4, and so did Pieters, who is playing in a Stoke team in crisis and stuck to the bottom of the league.

A wildcard seems tempting but it would be a shame to pull a wildcard when I have 2 free transfers.

We shall see. Fate may push my hand to play the wildcard, if any of my current players suddenly pull up with injuries in the League Cup games. Fingers crossed.

