53 points this week. Slight green arrow and a tiny increase in mini league positions. A bit underwhelming considering I activated my wildcard. Somehow, when you use the wildcard, wild visions of grandeur where your team rake in points like there’s no tomorrow form in your head.

gw8-points

My tactic of upgrading my defence to include 2 premium defenders certainly backfired, at least for this week. On paper, Arsenal and Spurs had cleansheet potential written all over their fixtures. They both conceded. Arsenal by 2 goals, against Swansea. Vertonghen duly matched Koscielny’s 1 point haul by getting a yellow to reduce his meagre 2 by 1. Great.

My remaining spot for a budget defender saw me picking Pieters, who returned with a surprising cleansheet and 2 bonus points. This would be cause for celebration any other day, except for the fact that my other budget defender, Holebas, sat on my bench with 15 points. A goal, a cleansheet and full bonus points. What a start to the wildcard.

Upfront, the midfield was a mixed bag, Son benched and came on for a 1-pointer. Arnautovic was unlucky to only get 1 assist which was marred by a yellow. Firmino got a single cleansheet point plus 2 for playing against the United team bus driven by Mourinho. The only one who raked in a haul was Walcott with 13 points. Upfront, Deeney had a match to forget while Aguero proved the biggest talking point over the weekend by being benched, coming off the bench in the 2nd half and then proceeding to miss a penalty to give his owners -1.

I was very, very lucky to get Costa’s goal and 3 bonus points as my Captain, because I was flipping the Captain’s armband between Kun and Costa all weekend. I finally decided on Kun, but as I clicked the button, the game went into update. I was saved by the deadline.

Anyways, lots to think about. A lot of players like the form of Lukaku, Joe Allen, Stanislas and even Charlie Austin is prompting a serious re-think as to what my GW9 team should be.

