85 (-8) points this week. A relatively successful week which sees my climb up slightly in ranks and also make up ground in my mini-leagues.

gw14-points

The performers were obviously Sanchez, Hazard, Costa and Kane. Bringing in both Sanchez and Kane paid off as they both raked in massive scores. The only slight drawback was picking Kane as captain over Sanchez. However, hindsight is a wonderful thing and it would have been extremely risky to pick Sanchez playing away to West Ham over Kane home to Swansea.

Hazard and Costa continue to bring home the bacon as Chelsea’s unstoppable rise continues. Other than those few, it was dire straits (and not of the musical kind) for the rest of the team. The Austin machine stopped working as Southampton slumped to a surprising 3-0 loss to Crystal Palace. This affected my 3rd transfer in too, as I traded in Alonso for Cedric Soares. That was an unavoidable move though, as I did not have enough to bring in Kane and Sanchez without sacrificing Alonso.

The highlight of the weekend, and a personal great escape from me, though, was Kun’s red card against Chelsea, and earning a 4 games ban as a result. It was risky selling Kun, but it was a calculated move. City were looking out of sorts and have a mixed bag for fixtures, so selling Kun for a red-hot Kane with great fixtures seemed quite a good strategy. And boy was I glad to have done that. I escaped the -1 point from Kun and gotten a problem off my chest for this week.

With a fairly settled team and having taken -8 hits for 2 gameweeks in a row, I decided this week to save the free transfer in anticipation of the busy Christmas period.

