Final gameweek. Gameweek 38.

I can’t believe it has come to the end of the journey.

And finally, a semblance of dignity was somewhat achieved with an OK score of 89 (-4)

GW38 points

Whilst all my gut instincts and popular polls were putting Kane in front, I was chasing in my money mini-league and therefore had to go maverick. Ironically, the person I was chasing ended up captaining Sanchez as he thought most chasing him would go for the Arsenal star. Thus, if I had played it safe by captaining Kane, I would have ironically been able to chase and overhaul him. Instead, my punt on Jesus, while getting me 22 points, left me 3 points short of overtaking him. Fine margins, I guess.

As is customary for final gameweeks, it was a goals galore. Many teams were simply playing for pride and new suitors while the only actual real fight that was going on was for the last Champions League spot. With Liverpool beating Boro 3-0 and City thumping a hapless Watford 5-0, Arsenal’s 3-1 win over Everton was for nought as they failed to get their perenial 4th spot.

Llorente was my final day pick and he duly delivered with 1 goal and 1 assist to grab 3 bonus points. It was almost enough for me to overtake my rival in my mini-league but unfortunately both the Arsenal and Southampton defences did not hold out for a cleansheet to enable me to pull off a comeback.

So, with the dust settled over this gameweek, the season has come to a close. I performed rather underwhelmingly short of expectation, ending up with an overall rank of 175,738, way outside my usual top 100k finish.

Over the next few days (or weeks), I will be recounting my season gone past, dissecting decisions, analysing certain calls and generally seeing if I can gleam any important lessons from the season gone by as I prepare early for next season. So until then, it’s wound licking time.

